Eden Energy Medicine Sessions Part 3

This is the third in a mini series where I attempt to talk about what it is like to have Eden energy medicine sessions.
In Eden Energy Medicine Sessions I talk about why I decided to go back for more sessions, having used Eden Energy Medicine (EEM) to help me recover from chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS).  I talk about my first session in Eden Energy Medicine Sessions Part 2  and, in this one, I talk about what it was like after my first session and a brief outline of my second session.

The evening after I’d had my first session, I felt rough. I felt light-headed, dizzy and just overall a bit strange.  Having had a few sessions of EEM now, I wasn’t surprised. My practitioner, Angie, warned me after my very first session, I might get a reaction and just to keep in touch. I think of it as a indicator that the session was doing its work. This may or may not be true but, at least, it makes me feel better!

Everything settled down after a day or two and now it was up to me.  If I wanted to give the EEM a real chance of working, I needed to do my ‘homework’.  I needed to do the exercises that Angie had recommended.  Otherwise it’s just like taking a pill once every four weeks and expecting it to help, an uphill struggle for my body to get better.

One of the main things I needed to do daily was something called the Daily Energy Routine.  This is something put together by Donna Eden to cover the most key exercises for most people, kept at a length that most people can manage (five minutes). Here is the official version: Daily Energy Routine.  Angie, also, wanted me to massage my neurolymphatics points (helps release toxins) and as Prune Harris’ longer version of the daily energy routine   includes this, I decided to include these at that time too.

The other homework was trickier: I do a lot of exercises to help my back/ posture and didn’t really feel I could commit more time to more exercises.  In the end, I realised  I could massage my adrenal points whilst I was doing a standing toe exercise – don’t ask – and the rooster comb, which involves holding points on your head, I did in the morning for five minutes before getting out of bed. I discovered this was an excellent time to do lying down exercises (now I longer need to rest during the day), as I have an excuse to delay getting up when my alarm goes off!  I set a meditation app on my phone to chime after five minutes so I didn’t fall back to sleep. If you are reading this before you start EEM sessions, it may be worth getting into the habit of doing the Daily Energy Routine: working out when the best time to do it is for you and becoming familiar with it. It’s good to be confident that you will be able to fit in EEM exercises into your daily life.

It was four or so weeks between my first and second session, and although I kept looking and looking for improvements, I couldn’t tell if anything had improved.  It was a bit like putting a (chocolate) soufflé in the oven but not having the patience to wait till the cooking time is up! Luckily EEM is more robust than a soufflé.

My second session with Angie pretty much followed the format of the first: a chat about how I’d been, a check of the basics (all good this time), a check of what I’d been working on, a focus/ treatment on the ‘next’ area and a concluding chat about what to do between sessions.  See Eden Energy Medicine Sessions Part 2 for a more detailed post about session format.

In my post  I would have paid ten thousand pounds I talk about one of the things that kept me going when I was having my EEM treatment was that each time I went back to see Angie, she would check for what had been weak last time, and each time she found an improvement.  This time it was the same: hormones (rooster comb) all points strong; adrenal points all strong except one slightly weak one; kidney meridian suckability as good as last time. As Angie says EEM is ‘a bit like being a detective’ – looking for where is weak and doing what you can to make it strong until enough has been done for your health to improve.

When we’d had our initial chat, I mentioned to Angie that I thought I needed help with my ‘five elements’ (five rhythms in Chinese Medicine). What I really meant was that Angie had done quite a lot of work on this when I’d had CFS and it just felt I needed more. This fitted with what Angie planned as she was intending to use muscle testing to see which ‘energy system’ to focus on: the energy system that came up was the Five Elements! After a bit more investigating to pinpoint the exact weakness, Angie was able to identify what ‘element’ was affected (yang earth) and what positive and negative emotions were involved: excessive worry being the negative one. I lay on the massage bed whilst Angie gently held neurovascular points on my head, whilst I thought of letting go of worry.  A few years ago, I would have said I didn’t really worry – I can look very calm – but I can do plenty of excessive thinking, and I now realise that is really worry.  I find the neurovascular treatments one of the most relaxing so maybe I just wanted that!

My homework this time was to do the Daily Energy Routine; to shift the extras I had been doing away from daily to occasionally and to add in ‘Cradling the Baby’. Again we agreed to aim for four weeks between sessions. Let’s see how it goes this time!

Warm wishes

 

Ali

PS In the end, this was the last post of the series…I didn’t feel another post would say much more.  My lightheadedness has now gone: it took five or six sessions with Angie plus an online Prune Harris course ‘The Mighty Menopause’ (still available) but all my side symptoms have now disappeared.  February 2019

A blog offering practical and emotional support for those with ME/CFS

Leave a comment